I am looking around my place and as I get ready to move I see a lot of the boxes are books.  Now I don’t just read technical books, but I am always in the middle of one or the other and have a couple on standby, ready to be read.

In my normal daily blog scanning I read Top Ten Must Read Books  for the Java Developer and since he referenced this article with the same theme and I had read that one before I decided to throw in my two cents.

There is no disagreement with any books listed. For Java programmers, as long as you have Effective Java and Thinking in Java in your library, you are on the right track.  However, let’s add a couple.

1) Test Driven Development, A Practical Guide – Author David Astel’s superb introduction to the concepts of TDD with some really good examples.  This compliments, I am told, Kent Beck’s TDD book well.

2) Refactoring Databases – Scott Ambler and Pramodkumar J. Sadalage cover an important topic of refining and improving our application’s data.  I read the first few chapters as an overview to the subject and have and will continue to use the rest as a reference.

3) Pragmatic Programmer – Should be required reading for any developer.

4) Definitive Guide To Grails –  I believe you need to understand the growing market for languages such as Groovy and Ruby.  I chose this one as Groovy is based on Java technology and Grails uses some very familiar technology such as Spring and Hibernate underneath the covers.  Read as an options for testing your Java applications if nothing else.

Finally, anything by Steve McConnell….

If you read the two lists linked to at the beginning, take into consideration their recommendations and add in my minor contribution you have a pretty good start on some great reading.  Enjoy.

